Reading to Learn

Reading to Learn

Reading to Learn

Reading to learn

 

Our school believes that "a reader today makes a leader tomorrow".  We encourage and prepare our students to read in different ways. We make infrastructure of reading to let the students have suitable resources and we also organize activities to arouse and keep their passion in reading.

 

Strategies in reading

  • To purchase a wide range of books which include different levels of English and Chinese books (fictions and non-fictions) to cater for the diverse reading interests and abilities of the students.In 2019-2020 and 2020-2021, the library has purchased 2037 new books. However, in 2020-2021, because of moving the library to new wing, we shrink the collection from 28000 to 16500. This purpose of this is to move out the old and outdated books from the shelves, to keep the collection vivid and pleasant, and be inviting to students and teachers.
  • To acquire and circulate books to support teachers in their professional development. The library also maintains a collection for teachers to equip teachers facing future challenges in education development. Recently, our school promote positive education among students as well as teachers, in which we build a contemporary collection of reference literature for teachers. However, the collection is housed inside the staff room and not much space for nice and easily accessible shelves.
  • To encourage students to read more books in morning reading. On one hand, we make use of the timetable setting to help students build a habit of reading. Every morning, students starts their day of learning by reading a book of their own choice. On the other hand, we encourage parents to prepare book with their children. This not only save the time of classroom management, but also provide an opportunity for parents to make conversation with their children.  
  • To provide library lessons to every class, to enhance their reading habit and reading interest. We arrange library lessons with class teachers by borrowing one home period in each term. Each class usually have three library lessons in whole year. In the library lessons, the teacher-librarian guide students on knowing library skills and encourage building positive reading habit by exploring different jewels of the library collection. This also help students to get a positive experience on reading and library service. In the future, we aim at providing a systematic curriculum to equip students with basic knowledge of using the library resources wisely to help their learning. This curriculum may use pre-recorded video with online exercises to achieve the purpose.
  • P6 graduation project research lessons. One of our signature activities is the challenging project research provide the p6 students an experience of SRL. This is not just an assignment, but involve students to plan, experiment, research, study, and report. Library plays an important part when planning and doing research. The librarian provides not just information and a platform for making the research a fruitful and interesting experience.
  • Develop a reading atmosphere outside the library by organizing reading related activities outside the library for KS1 and KS2 students. We believe that students like reading and our children have lots of resources to read. It is our responsibility to guide our students to read quality reading materials and explorer new domains in their reading garden. Every year, the RPC organizes a series of activities and build an atmosphere of book-around in the campus, this includes reading fortnight, BOB, as well as notice boards and bookshelves in every classrooms and public areas on some floors.
  • Parent workshops on reading are organized for KS1 and KS2 respectively with different foci. Our library starts with library parent-volunteers to help daily routine of library administrative works. Some parent-volunteers also interested to help storytelling in recesses to students. In 2020-2021, the library organizes a series of workshops for interested parents to learn more in storytelling and the library will also provide opportunities for them to tell stories for our students.
  • Promote the school wide practice of “Book in Hand” during morning reading time. Our teachers want to further support and encourage students to always prepare a reading material whenever necessary. The first step is to encourage students (and parents) to prepare a book for every morning reading. This also provide a scenario for parent-child conversation. Second, teachers remind students to bring at least a book for reading when they travel on school bus, such as dental check, singing contest or choral speaking, where they may have to spend plenty of time in waiting. This may help students to build a habit to enjoy reading in every aspect of life.

 

In order to encourage the love of reading in our students so they become life-long readers, the RPC provides a diverse range of activities to promote reading by our students. Parental support is pivotal to the success of these activities.

 

Book Swop

Students donate books they have read and in return they can redeem other titles. In this way, they are giving their old favourite books a new lease of life as well as acquiring new reading materials.  This is to encourage a read-sharing culture and an environment-saving lifestyle.

 

Battle of the Books (B.O.B.)

Ten titles of books are selected in each phase by Chinese, English, General Studies and Mathematics teachers. Students are asked to read them and to participate in a competition to test their knowledge of the recommended books. Class scores are also shown in the House score to encourage participation.

 

The Reading Fortnight

Reading activities such as author visits, Pajamas Reading Day, Character Dress-up Day, Reader's Theatre performances, reading-related activities in the Library, movies in English Land and treasure hunts of books will be organize by teachers or inviting parents or guests to let students to experience different interesting reading activities.

 

Storytelling @ Lunch Recess

Students are encouraged to sign up and share their favourite stories with their school-mates through regular lunch recess storytelling sessions. Students are encouraged to sign up voluntarily and share their favourite stories with their schoolmates through regular lunch recess storytelling sessions. With the new setting in new library, we should then have a little platform to become the base of storytelling activities.

 

D.E.A.R. and Classroom Reading Corners

Reading corners are set up in each classroom. Chinese and English books are placed for students' leisure reading. Books donated by parents are placed in the classroom by students for sharing are also welcome.  However, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the bookshelves are now temporarily closed.

 

D.E.A.R. Calendar (P.1-3)

Every student receives a copy of D.E.A.R. calendar in the start of the new school year. Students are required to read on a daily basis and record on the calendar. The calendar also suggests a variety of activities which promote reader-text interactions.

 

D.E.A.R. time

During the Morning Reading sessions, all class teachers and students "drop-everything-and-read" books together in the classroom.

 

Inter-Class Reading Competition

Starting from October, parents are encouraged to enter the reading records of their child in the school Intranet during the first week of next month. Each student who meets the requirement of reading amount will score marks for their class and themselves. There are awards in each term to acclaim those score the most and borrow books from the school library. The class score is also recorded in the “House score”. So, their reading habit not only award themselves but also acknowledge in class and group.

 

Bookathon

To encourage students to share their happiness in reading with people in need, we participate donation programme from NGO. Student set a goal to read a certain number of books in a period of time and ask relatives and friends to offer donation.

 

Newspaper and Book Order

In order to encourage students to read different kinds of books, the School Library promotes wholesome quality newspapers and magazines, such as newspaper "Ming Pao", magazine "How it works" as well as the Scholastic Book Club's programme as it offers an enormous range of books throughout the year.

 

Book Fair and Exhibition

The Book Fairs are often arranged on the Student-led Conference Days, and suitable book suppliers are invited to exhibit various Chinese and English books, magazines as well as educational software.

 

Mini / theme-based book exhibition

The library co-operates with subjects and teams to explore and display books they wish the students to focus or related to recent topic they are teaching. This is also a way to support students with different learning diversity. Previous topics included “life-cycle” and “insects” with English subject; “成語” with Chinese subject and “environment protection” with GS subject (just to name a few).

 

Parent volunteers' organisation

On one hand, parents are our valuable resources to help organizing activities; and on the other hand, parents also learn the art parenting through contact with educators. We have a team of parent volunteers in library to serve daily routine, festival decoration and help in school events (such as BookSwop, B.O.B. etc.) We also started the StoryPama workshops with Chinese subject in 2020-2021. With their participation and sharing, we hope to build a powerful team of storytelling parents to demonstrate in different events.

 

Online promotion of reading under the pandemic

Because of the pandemic, the RPC members quickly realized our children have no more access to the reading resources at home. The librarian, with the help of professional organizations, quickly fetched free online resources from all around the world for our students and post them on the eClass platform. Our RPC members also made videos on storytelling, authors guide, and theme books guides for students. Recently, all the teachers are invited to take a video to recommend a book or do a storytelling on video. For two years, the reading fortnight would be affected by the pandemic and we made the activity an online one. We invite students and parents to take video of “dress-up a character” to introduce a favourite book and “one-minute advertisement” to promote a book he/she loves. These activities are made to keep the zest of reading among the students. Furthermore, we may even have to transform the B.O.B. to an online competition in 2021.

 

Library service under the pandemic

When the school is preparing for resuming the face-to-face school time, the library also preparing to resume service. Early in March 2020, the school has already purchased a UV book sanitizer to clean all the returned books. The book shelves in classrooms and open areas are closed. To avoid students to gather too closed together, we arrange one class to visit the library in each recess. We also place book return cart in every floors for students to return borrowed books, so the books will be sanitized.

 

Increase collection of ebooks / e-resources

We always encourage students to read printed books rather than ebooks. This is to protect their eye’s health and minimize their screen time. We hope the students would smell the bibliosmia (scent of the printed paper) when this were still young. However, because the stop of face-to-face teaching at school, the library needs to purchase and deliver the ebooks. With the help from subject-teachers, we start our ebook collection in late 2020. And we will be continuous to build the e-collection of quality books. However, the newly emerged world of ebook is quite different from the library, whereas they are not from a single platform and not suitable to place in a single platform either. There would be some technical barriers to overcome before the collection has to develop under the ebook platform.

從閱讀中學習

從閱讀中學習

從閱讀中學習

從閱讀中學習

 

我們作為教育工作者,一直認為「今天的讀者,將成為明天的領導者」。我們鼓勵我們的學生以不同的方式閱讀。我們建立閱讀的硬件,以使學生擁有合適的資源,我們亦組織各種活動來提升他們對閱讀的熱情。


閱讀策略

  • 選購適合各閲讀階段的中英文圖書(小説及非小説類)以滿足學生多樣化的興趣及能力 本圖書館積極汰舊換新。本圖書館於2019-2020及2020-2021年度,共購入2037本新書。圖書館於2020-2021年度進行搬遷,藏書數量從28000本縮減至16500本。是次汰舊換新主要是把資料老舊和殘缺的書籍淘汰,保持在架書籍充滿活力和吸引讀者。
  • 加強採購專業發展書籍,支持教師專業發展 圖書館為教師保存了一系列專業教育資料,以助教師迎接未來教育發展的挑戰。最近,我們學校積極在學生和教師中推廣正面教育,為教師建立了當代參考文獻集。該系列書籍放置在教員室內,然而,由於教員室空間有限,只可放置簡單的書架、未可全面提供書籍供參考。 
  • 鼓勵學生在早晨閱讀時段讀更多書 我們的時間表安排了每天早上,學生通過閱讀自己選擇的書來開始一天的學習,亦相信這安排幫助學生養成閱讀習慣。另一方面,我們亦鼓勵父母和他們的孩子一起準備圖書,這不僅節省了課堂管理的時間,也為家長提供與孩子溝通的機會。 
  • 為每班上圖書館課,提昇他們的閱讀習慣和閱讀興趣 我們與班主任一起安排圖書館課,每學期借用一個班主任課時段。每班級全年有三節圖書館課。在圖書館課中,圖書館主任通過與學生一起探索圖書館館藏中不同瑰寶,引導學生瞭解圖書館不同的技能,鼓勵培養閱讀習慣。此外,這也有助於學生在閱讀和利用圖書館的經驗上,獲得正面的體驗。我們的目標是舛立一個系統課程,使學生具備利用圖書館資源來學會學習的基本知識。課程預算也會利用預先錄製的影片與在線練習來加強學習成效。 
  • 小六畢業研究計劃 此活動爲學生提供具挑戰性且能訓練自主學習的機會。這活動不單是一份作業,更是學生的創作成果,他們可以在活動中參與籌劃、實驗、研究及報告。當中,圖書館扮演着重要的角色,教授學生如何計劃及進行研究。圖書館主任不但提供知識資源和學習平台,更讓學生擁有豐富而有趣的經歷。
  • 組織各類校内閲讀活動,營造校園閲讀氛圍 我們相信學生喜愛閲讀,學校也擁有許多閲讀資源。圖書館的角色在於引導學生有效地閲讀,並能在閲讀中探索課本以外的新知識。每年,閲讀推廣小組都會舉辦一系列的活動,包括閲讀雙周、戰書等,務求將學生沉浸於書海中。另外,圖書館亦在課室和公共空間的壁報板及書架上張貼閲讀相關的資訊。 
  • 分別為低年級及高年級學生家長開設閱讀工作坊 圖書館積極招募家長義工,協助圖書館的日常管理。當中部分家長義工對「講故事」饒有興致,因此圖書館籌辦了一系列關於「講故事」的工作坊,給有興趣的家長參加,並邀請他們在小息時候為學生説故事。 
  • 推動「一書在手」早晨閲讀時間 本校老師積極支援及鼓勵學生閲讀。在早晨未上課的閲讀時段,學生需要帶備一本自選或由家長揀選的圖書。家長選書的同時亦可以增進與孩子的溝通。除此之外,老師亦會提醒學生善用零散時間,例如:乘坐校巴或等待比賽、牙補時閱讀,讓書籍融入生活。

圖書館館內活動

  • 午膳小息説故事 學校鼓勵學生利用午膳後的休息時間向其他同學分享自己喜愛的故事。新圖書館設備良好,可以為説故事活動提供更優良的場地。
  • 圖書角 每個課室都設有圖書角,提供中英文書籍,供學生閲讀。學校歡迎家長捐贈書籍到課室,讓學生分享閲讀之樂。然而,因爲疫情關係,圖書角暫停開放。
  • D.E.A.R. 月曆 (小一至小三) 學生每年在開學時會收到一本 D.E.A.R. 月曆。學生需要在月曆上記錄每日閲讀的情況。此外,月曆亦列出多項閲讀活動以增進讀者與書籍歷程的互動。
  • D.E.A.R. 時間 在早上的閲讀時間,所有班主任和學生一起放下其他事情,享受閲讀時間。  
  • 班際閲讀比賽 學校鼓勵家長從十月開始在內聯網登記學生閲讀的紀錄。每名達到閲讀數量標準的學生可以為班級增加一分數。獎項會頒給每學期最高分的班級。另外,班級分數亦會計算在社分數中。因此,學生的閲讀習慣不但能增進他們的個人閱歷,更可使他們得到班級和社群的認同。
  • 訂閲報紙和書籍 為鼓勵學生閲讀各類型書籍,學校圖書館推薦同學訂閲各種高質素的報章、雜誌,例如:《明報》、《知識大圖解》。另外,圖書館亦鼓勵同學透過 Scholastic Book Club,定期收取訂購書籍的資訊。
  • 換換書 這是一個周年活動。學生通過捐出自己的書籍來交換其他同學捐出的書籍。一方面可以賦予舊書一個新的讀者,原讀者也可以得到新的閲材。此活動有助鼓勵分享閲讀的文化及環保生活。 
  • 閲讀馬拉松 為鼓勵學生分享閲讀之樂,學校參與非牟利組織的籌款活動。學生會為自己定下閲讀和籌款的目標,並鼓勵學生親自向親友邀請及講解籌款活動和勸捐。 
  • 戰書 (B.O.B.) 中文、英文、數學及常識老師挑選出每年級十本書籍供學生閲讀,並根據書籍內容出題,以測試學生的閲讀成果。在比賽當天,大家齊集禮堂,每一位同學都需要答問題以得分。此活動除了會記錄為班級的分數外,也會算在社分數中,以增強歸屬感。
  • 閲讀週 閱讀推廣組在閲讀週期間舉行多元化活動,例如:作家會面、睡衣閲讀日、角色扮演日、劇場表演及其他相關閲讀活動等。此外,英文角的電影放映活動和書中尋寶活動會由老師、家長或其他嘉賓籌辦,讓學生參與到與衆不同的閲讀活動。
  • 書展 一般會在學習成果展示日進行書展,邀請合適的供應商到校展出各類中、英文書籍、雜誌及學習軟件。此活動向家長提供機會,透過閱讀鼓勵學生更進步。
  • 小型書展 圖書館與各科老師合作,展示與學習課題相關的書籍,以往課題包括英文科:生命週期、昆蟲等;中文科:成語;常識科:環境保護等。此外,這些小型專題書展亦有助有不同學習需要的學生。
  • 家長義工小組 一方面,家長是我們的珍貴資源;另一方面,家長也可以通過與學校的接觸學習如何教導孩子。圖書館有幸得到一群家長的幫助,協助圖書館日常運作、節日佈置及學校活動(例如:換書活動、戰書活動等)。2020-2021年度,圖書館更與中文科協辦「親親好書友」家長工作坊。我們希望在家長的分享和參與下,可以建立強大的講故事團隊,在各類型活動中分享閱讀的樂趣。
  • 疫情下的網上閱讀推廣活動 學校停止面授課後,閲讀推廣小組迅速意識到在家學習的學生無法借閲實體閲讀材料。在各組織的幫助下,圖書館老師取得來自世界各地的免費閱讀資源,並將有關資訊發佈在 eClass上。此外,閲讀推廣小組為學生製作各類型閱讀相關影片,例如:講故事、作者介紹、圖書系列推介等。最近,全校老師均投入在影片拍攝行列中,成為 YouTuber,為學生推薦書籍或講故事。過去兩年,閱讀週活動均受到疫情的影響,部分活動改為網上進行。我們邀請學生和家長拍攝「書中人物扮演」或「一分鐘書介廣告」影片,介紹及宣傳他們最喜愛的圖書。這些活動保持學生對閱讀的興趣。在2021年,閱讀推廣小組天更積極籌備把「戰書」活動轉為網上比賽。 
  • 疫情下的圖書館服務 當學校準備恢復面授課,圖書館亦積極準備提供服務。早於疫情初期,學校已購置紫外線圖書消毒機,為歸還的圖書消毒。在各樓層及課室的原有書架,則暫時封存,以免成為交叉感染的媒介。復課後,為免學生人數太多聚集於圖書館,實施了以班級進館的安排,每一個小息只安排一班學生進入圖書館閱讀及借書。還書方面,提供了各樓層的還書車,學生不用到圖書館交還圖書,更可以讓圖書館可以把歸還的圖書逐一消毒。
  • 增添電子書及電子資源 學校期望學生可以在年幼時培養閲讀實體書的習慣,更希望能細味書香;也為保持學生的視覺健康,減少屏幕時間,學校一般鼓勵學生閲讀紙本書而非電子書。然而,因爲疫情關係,學校停止面授課堂,學生不能到圖書館,所以圖書館積極採購電子書供學生在家也可以閲讀。在多方的協助下,圖書館在2020年末開始提供電子書給學生閲讀。值得注意的是,電子書種類衆多,提供電子書的平台各有不同,館藏無法置於單一的平台中。圖書館期望能建立整全而優質的電子書庫給學生,惟現時仍需積極解決技術壁壘問題。